Particle Counting Cleanliness Codes

Comparing ISO and NAS Particle Counting Codes

Most laboratories utilize ISO cleanliness codes. However, we frequently receive requests about NASA cleanliness codes.

ISO Cleanliness Codes

ISO cleanliness codes are the most widely used international standard for representation of the level of particulate contamination in your industrial fluid and are typically presented in codes of three ratings that are based on particle sizes of 4 microns, 6 microns, and 14 microns.

NAS Cleanliness Codes

NAS Cleanliness Codes can also be used for the same purpose as ISO Cleanliness Codes. NAS Cleanliness Codes were originally created in the U.S. for aerospace components, but they're also widely used by the U.K. for North Sea Industries.

How are ISO and NAS Particle Counting Codes Different?

ISO-4406 and 1638 compare and contrast the most is that ISO has this set of three digits that comprise that cleanliness code, while NAS has a singular digit that's referred to as a class. Certain classes relate to certain ISO codes, but they seem to have a bit of a wider range than the ISO-4406 ones do.

Learn More About Particle Counting Cleanliness Codes

We know people are always interested in learning more about the different test methods and their applications, as well as alarm limits. You can learn more by reaching out to us and by downloading our free eBook, "Get the Picture."

Comments are closed.